Testimonials 2018-05-03T11:51:53+00:00

What People Are Saying

  • 4 star review  Beautiful facility , def will visit to train however as big as the facility the rest rooms are piss poor no pun intended . The men’s room had one stall, and urinal was broken an from what I gather been broken for 4 weeks now . Thank goodness I asked about another bathroom which was staffs and being used by powerlifters . Other than that great place .

    thumb James Allen
    4/22/2018

    5 star review  Anytime I'm in the Northern Virginia/D.C. area, this is where I will train. So much equipment. So many knowledgeable people. So much fun.

    thumb Jeff Kryglik
    2/04/2018

    5 star review  Best gym in the DMV. I was searching for an Olympic lifting style place, and all I can find are Crossfit places with not many "open gym" times, I wanted a place that gave me options (WOD, oly lifts, and basic workouts). Also, I was looking for a place that doesn't get crowded, and this place never gets packed which is a huge plus, I want to workout freely without having to wait for machines or people taking selfies. Prices are great, many membership options. They also have huge turf areas to do lots of football/baseball drills, and other cardio type of work. Shower in the bathroom. Plenty of parking. This place is for everyone: Olympic lifters, "Crossfiters," heavy lifters, even if you're just trying to stay in shape.

    thumb Omar Ismail
    8/08/2017

    5 star review  I just recently completed the 6week challenge here at Tysons Playground and i loved the ass kicking workouts that they put me through. The trainers are awesome, the workouts are pleasantly challenging and they were easy to schedule. They keep track of my progress very closely and keep updating the workout routine for maximum impact, they discussed and resolve any problem i was facing by educating me regarding the various workouts according to my body need (bad shoulder). The best thing about the trainers Marcus and Ashley is that they make sure i was getting results i was looking for.. I strongly recommend a combination of personal and group training, you’ll learn proper form in the personal training and the trainers will customize the workouts to your needs, do yourself a favor and checkout Tysons playground. You won’t regret it!!

    thumb Ibzan Milan
    4/19/2018

    5 star review  This gym is awesome, if you are a serious lifter you have probably been looking for a place like this. This isn't a place that just barely tolerates those that go hardcore like most commercial fitness centers, they actually welcome you. Every toy you could want as a strength athlete is here. I wish I could back in time 20 years and train here, the gainz would have been amazing.

    thumb Tim Henriques
    6/25/2016

    4 star review  I recently completed a 6-week weight/fat loss challenge at Tysons Playground. I was new to the gym when starting the program. In addition to a clean-eating plan, for which they provided a list of clean/lean food items to make meal planning more simple, I participated in 3x weekly group fitness classes. The instructors were engaging, approachable, friendly, and knowledgeable. The classes were very kettlebell-centric, but also consisted of TRX work, medicine/slam balls, rop... es, dumbbells, sleds, and body weight exercises. Moves were basic, but effective. And the other class/team members were friendly and welcoming. Many of them have been going to Tysons Playground for years, so it's obvious they have been happy with the team, the programs, the camaraderie, and the results. Personally, I saw myself lose about 10lbs (which was my goal weight loss) and several inches in various places (-2.5in chest, -2in waist, -1in hips, -1.5in thighs) and was very happy with my results, and this kick-start to get back to the fitness level and fitness accountability I was at a year ago. I can't speak much for other gym services, as I did not take advantage of any other classes or open gym time during my 6 weeks, but there is tons of space, TONS of equipment, and the gym was never very busy while I was there, so you never have to wait for machines or equipment. If you're deterred by the hustle and bustle of many of the gyms in the area, or by being a female in a weight room FULL of males, this is a great gym to check out! They also seem to offer a lot of other programs around competition, heavy lifting, bodybuilding, team sport clinics, etc. A little bit of everything for everyone! Check them out!

    thumb Jess Markey
    4/11/2018

    5 star review  Great place. John is a great trainer, he gauges well and fits the workout while pushing your limits just enough. Super nice as well. Ken is awesome too. Can’t leave him out. I’m gonna keep coming back!

    thumb Steve Mundo Landivar
    1/27/2018

    5 star review  A great way to search for IT, find IT, and get IT back! #strength

    thumb Angelia Walker
    3/07/2018

    5 star review  We are new to Northern Virginia and I went to at least 10 gyms before finding Tyson's. Best equipment and lots of it. Laid back, respectful and friendly environment with something for the whole family. The feel of a gym is important to me. The cattle herding types of many gyms with no real commitment to the service appears to be the modern day business model, but Tyson's is NOT this. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    thumb Bill Rowe
    1/15/2018
  • 5 star review  I've been an active member of the Playground for over 6 years. That is atypical of other gyms but Tysons Playground is anything but typical. No boring workouts or getting stuck doing the same old thing. Ken and the other trainers know how to keep you motivated and in shape. It's been a game changer for me.

    thumb Marcia Mayo Smith
    9/28/2017

    5 star review  I just recently completed the 6week challenge here at Tysons Playground and i loved the ass kicking workouts that they put me through. The trainers are awesome, the workouts are pleasantly challenging and they were easy to schedule. They keep track of my progress very closely and keep updating the workout routine for maximum impact, they discussed and resolve any problem i was facing by educating me regarding the various workouts according to my body need (bad shoulder). The best thing about the trainers Marcus and Ashley is that they make sure i was getting results i was looking for.. I strongly recommend a combination of personal and group training, you’ll learn proper form in the personal training and the trainers will customize the workouts to your needs, do yourself a favor and checkout Tysons playground. You won’t regret it!!

    thumb Ibzan Milan
    4/19/2018

    5 star review  This gym is awesome, if you are a serious lifter you have probably been looking for a place like this. This isn't a place that just barely tolerates those that go hardcore like most commercial fitness centers, they actually welcome you. Every toy you could want as a strength athlete is here. I wish I could back in time 20 years and train here, the gainz would have been amazing.

    thumb Tim Henriques
    6/25/2016

    4 star review  I recently completed a 6-week weight/fat loss challenge at Tysons Playground. I was new to the gym when starting the program. In addition to a clean-eating plan, for which they provided a list of clean/lean food items to make meal planning more simple, I participated in 3x weekly group fitness classes. The instructors were engaging, approachable, friendly, and knowledgeable. The classes were very kettlebell-centric, but also consisted of TRX work, medicine/slam balls, rop... es, dumbbells, sleds, and body weight exercises. Moves were basic, but effective. And the other class/team members were friendly and welcoming. Many of them have been going to Tysons Playground for years, so it's obvious they have been happy with the team, the programs, the camaraderie, and the results. Personally, I saw myself lose about 10lbs (which was my goal weight loss) and several inches in various places (-2.5in chest, -2in waist, -1in hips, -1.5in thighs) and was very happy with my results, and this kick-start to get back to the fitness level and fitness accountability I was at a year ago. I can't speak much for other gym services, as I did not take advantage of any other classes or open gym time during my 6 weeks, but there is tons of space, TONS of equipment, and the gym was never very busy while I was there, so you never have to wait for machines or equipment. If you're deterred by the hustle and bustle of many of the gyms in the area, or by being a female in a weight room FULL of males, this is a great gym to check out! They also seem to offer a lot of other programs around competition, heavy lifting, bodybuilding, team sport clinics, etc. A little bit of everything for everyone! Check them out!

    thumb Jess Markey
    4/11/2018

    5 star review  Great place. John is a great trainer, he gauges well and fits the workout while pushing your limits just enough. Super nice as well. Ken is awesome too. Can’t leave him out. I’m gonna keep coming back!

    thumb Steve Mundo Landivar
    1/27/2018

    5 star review  A great way to search for IT, find IT, and get IT back! #strength

    thumb Angelia Walker
    3/07/2018

    5 star review  We are new to Northern Virginia and I went to at least 10 gyms before finding Tyson's. Best equipment and lots of it. Laid back, respectful and friendly environment with something for the whole family. The feel of a gym is important to me. The cattle herding types of many gyms with no real commitment to the service appears to be the modern day business model, but Tyson's is NOT this. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    thumb Bill Rowe
    1/15/2018

Top-notch training facility offering the greatest array of equipment I’ve seen in a gym, fit for both experienced strength athletes and newcomers alike.

I emphasize calling this place a training facility, because I think that’s the best way to describe it. It isn’t just a commercial gym where people pay their dues just to work out. The people who work here and the facility’s members are all very personable, friendly, and extremely helpful. Groups of youth sports teams regularly train here in the evening, because there is a HUGE amount of space, and space for everyone. Contrary to the negative review I saw earlier, the group found here is practically a family. Everyone knows each other and it’s a very encouraging work-out environment. Ken, specifically, is probably the most helpful coach/trainer I’ve met, even before I started training here seriously. I came to TP a week before my powerlifting meet just to try it out, and Ken gave me a lot of his time to give me advice and watch my form.. all without charging me! That kind of encouraging training environment combined with the myriad of equipment convinced me that TP was -the- place to train.

Now to the myriad of equipment I described… everything that a powerlifter, crossfitter, weightlifter, strongman, and general strength athlete could use! Strongman equipment: Yoke racks, Atlas stones in the garage area, logs, axle bars, etc. A TON of weightlifting specific bars for weightlifters/crossfitters, and then USAPL-approved bars, Ohio power bars, Texas bars, football bar, safety squat bar for powerlifters and strength athletes. There are also several squat/power racks in the main training area as well as the adult-only weight room, deadlift platforms, weightlifting platforms, you name it! Sleds and prowlers are available to use for conditioning, and most of the facility is covered with turf to use for conditioning/training. And of course, there are hammer strength machines, free weights, and mirrors for assistance/bodybuilding-style training.

Coming here, you can either opt for a bootcamp-style membership or general membership (open gym). The price is higher than the average commercial gym, ranging from $80-100+, but in my opinion, it is well worth it. At TP you not only sign up for the options in equipment, but you also sign up for a positive, yet focused and hardcore training environment.

PRO TIP: Come by for FREE on Sunday Fundays where you can train for free and then eat food catered by Simple Grill. Announced on Tyson’s Playground page every month, so be sure to follow the Facebook page.

Thuan T.

Tyson’s Playground so far is the only one of two gyms I’ve encountered in the NOVA area that really motivates me to get fit and be healthy (2nd is Koko FitClub). This place is hidden away behind the Tesla dealership so it can be hard to find, but once you get in, you’re greeted by Ken, the owner, or another friendly receptionist. The first room is the field for sports training, walk over to the back and you encounter a GIANT room with machines and bars lining the walls and lined space in the middle to use for sleds and other fun stuff.

The room next to it is the weight-training room, with everything a powerlifter, weight lifter, crossfitter (?? not sure on this one) could need. You’ve got platforms for deadlifting, professional chest press thingies (sorry I know I sound dumb) that can convert into a squat rack, actual squat racks, dumbells, etc. I mean this place is HUGE. You can do SO MUCH with it.

Ken and TP are great about hosting really cool events here. I’ve had the pleasure in attending MASS weekend and Sunday Fundays and you can find all about them on their instagram. Rates are 80$ for a yearly contract and 100$ month-to-month, steep I know, but I think it’s well worth it. I can’t wait to start my membership here in a few weeks!

Victoria N.

I wanted to write a review because I don’t think the two other ones I just read are fair.

Breakfast Bootcamp and Ken Stewart have played a critical part in helping to imrpove my fitness level as well as my life. I am a former competitive swimmer, but turned into a blog over the last 20 years.I started BBC in August 2011 with a goal of losing 50 pounds. I didn’t think it was realistic, or at least thought it would take a long, long time. I was intimidated when I started seeing what everybody was doing.

By February 2012, not only did I lose the weight, but I am in great shape — I have abs and biceps ūüôā – and feel great. The only downside has also been positive — I have had to shop for new clothes as I went from a size 36 pant to size 32.

The key to Breakfast Bootcamp success is positive motivation from Ken, a fun mix of strength and cardio and transforming your diet. But I have also made great friends and consider Breakfast Bootcamp part of my family.

I highly recommend giving Breakfast Bootcamp a shot.

Brett L.
Sign Up For Free Fitness Tips
Enter your name and email below for free fitness tips and videos 
Sign Up